Dr. Nathan Lighthizer Named a “Rising Star”

Nathan Lighthizer color head shot April 2016

ROCKVILLE, MD, June 30, 2016 – The Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 Special Recognition Awards.

Northeastern State University, Oklahoma College of Optometry’s (NSUOCO) Director of Continuing Education, Dr. Nathan Lighthizer, is named a Rising Star.

Generously sponsored by Oculus, the ASCO Rising Star Award is given to an outstanding faculty member or administrator with less than seven years of service who has made noteworthy contributions to fulfilling the mission, strategic objectives or programs of ASCO.

Dr. Lighthizer is recognized for his outstanding contributions to NSUOCO through teaching, scholarship, administration and professional service and most noticeably in contributions to ASCO’s Clinical Directors/Administrators Special Interest Group.

“I am extremely honored to have been selected for this award,” says Dr. Lighthizer. “It was a true shock and I would like to thank ASCO for this wonderful honor and for all they do for the schools and colleges of optometry. I also want to thank Dean Doug Penisten and Associate Dean Kippi Wyatt for their leadership and mentorship over the past few years.”

Additional awardees are: ASCO Lifetime Achievement Award, Dr. Morris Berman, Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University; Industry Leadership Award, R. Mike Daley, The Vision Council; and additional ASCO Rising Star Award, Dr. Nicole Ross, New England College of Optometry. 

Dr. Lighthizer and his fellow awardees were recognized during ASCO’s Annual Luncheon on Wednesday, June 29 in Boston, MA.


The Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO) is a non-profit association representing the interests of optometric education. Founded in 1941 and headquartered in Rockville, MD, ASCO is committed to achieving excellence in optometric education and to helping its member institutions prepare well-qualified graduates for entrance into the profession of optometry. Its membership encompasses the schools and colleges of optometry in the 50 states and Puerto Rico. A number of optometry schools outside the United States are affiliate members.