Rising Star Award

gold starOCULUS Logo

This award is sponsored by Oculus. It recognizes a faculty member or administrator with less than seven years of service who has made noteworthy contributions to fulfilling the mission, strategic objectives or programs of ASCO. Nominees will demonstrate outstanding contributions in one of the following areas:

  • Teaching which may include classroom, laboratory instruction, or course development
  • Scholarship which may include grant writing, research, publications, presentations, or other scholarly and creative activities
  • Administration which may include general administration, planning, development, or evaluation activities
  • Professional service which may include service to ASCO through committee, group, SIG or related activities; work in the community, state, or national levels that represents or promotes ASCO or optometric education

A contribution of $1,000 will be made to the faculty member’s or administrator’s institution designated for the recipient’s faculty and/or professional development. A commemorative award will also be presented to the “Rising Star” at the ASCO Annual Leadership Luncheon.

Contact Sara Lau, Business Operations Manager, for any questions at slau@opted.org.

Nominations are now being accepted.

Award Recipients

The 2020 Rising Star Award is given to Dr. Erik Mothersbaugh. Dr. Erik Mothersbaugh thank you video. A special message from Oculus, sponsor of the the Rising Star Award.

The 2019 Rising Star Award is given to Dr. Diane Russo. Special Recognition Video.

The 2018 Rising Star Award is given to Dr. Andrew D. Pucker. Special Recognition Video.

The 2017 Rising Star Award is given to Dr. Catherine McDaniel

The 2016 Rising Star Award is given to Dr. Nathan Lighthizer and Dr. Nicole Ross

The 2015 Rising Star Award is given to Todd Peabody, OD

In 2014, the inaugural Rising Star Awardee was Dr. Yi Pang, Assistant Dean for Research and Associate Professor at the Illinois College of Optometry